9.15.2013

Happy National Creme de Menthe Day!

There tends to be some confusion about the veganity of alcoholic beverages.  There's the first hurdle: there are non-vegan alcoholic beverages?!?!  Yes.  Second hurdle: WHAT?!

Beyond the more obvious items such as Bailey's, there are many types of alcohol that use animal products in the refining process.  These animal products are namely isinglass, a substance somehow extracted from the swim bladders of fishes, and egg albumin.  Suspect items include dark beers, all wines, and some liqueurs.

Lucky for all vegans across the globe, there is such a thing as Barnivore - the most comprehensive database of what drinks are and are not vegan.  (Barnivore, you guys rock!)  When I began designing cocktails for Vegan Drinks New Orleans, I spent a lot of time researching, on Barnivore and elsewheres on the internets.  And one of the things I discovered is that most "creme" liqueurs such as creme de caco and creme de menthe are in fact generally vegan! 

Vegan Drinks New Orleans has been on hiatus for a while, but keep your eyes peeled for an event to pop up soon!  When we do get together for some cocktails, order yourself an almond milk Grasshopper: a minty and refreshing New Orleans original, veganized!

A fine selection at the local liquor store... ehrm, I mean, the Mid-City Rouse's.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.